National Register of Historic Places

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the nation's historic places worthy of preservation. The first Caswell County property to be listed in the National Register was the Milton State Bank in April 1973. Since then two historic districts, Yanceyville and Milton, and nineteen individual properties have been entered for a total of twenty-one National Register listings in the county. The Union Tavern (Thomas Day workshop) in Milton has been recognized as a National Historic Landmark.

Bartlett Yancey House
Brown-Graves House and Brown's Store
Caswell County Courthouse
Garland-Buford House
Graves House
Griers Presbyterian Church and Cemetery
James Malone House
John Johnston House
Melrose (Williamson House)
Milton Historic District
Milton State Bank
Moore-Stamps-Gwyn House
Forest Home (Poteat House)
Red House Presbyterian Church
Rose Hill (Bedford Brown House)
Union Tavern (Thomas Day House)
Warren House and Store
Wildwood (William Monroe Long House)
Yanceyville Historic District


Little-Stokes, Ruth and Wrenn, Tony P. An Inventory of Historic Architecture: Caswell County, North Carolina, Raleigh: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Deptartment of Cultural Resources, 1979.


National Register of Historic Places
North Carolina State Historic Preservation Office

Copyright © Caswell County Historical Association, Inc.
All Rights Reserved